Departments, Programs, and Research Centers in Mathematical & Physical Sciences

The Division of Mathematical & Physical Sciences is comprised of four academic departments: Astronomy, Earth & Planetary Science, Mathematics, and Physics, all of which are ranked amongst the top departments in the country.

Standing on the shoulders of giants such as Ernest Lawrence and Julia Robinson, these departments continue to push the boundaries of their fields and educate brilliant minds at the same time.

The division also includes multiple institutes and centers, all of which are designed to spur collaboration in burgeoning fields of study, from earthquake science to theoretical particle physics to nanoscience.

Learn more about our departments and select programs here: