Humanities Professors Elected to Membership of APS

Two UC Berkeley professors in the humanities are among the newest members of the American Philosophical Society, the nation’s oldest and most selective scholarly association, making Berkeley one of only two American universities to boast double humanities electees to the APS for 2007.

j. butlerJudith Butler, on faculty with the Department of Rhetoric, is among the roster of new APS members for 2007. Butler is a Maxine Elliot Professor of Rhetoric, Comparative Literature, and Gender and Sexuality Studies. Her most recent book is Giving an Account of Oneself (Fordham University Press, 2005). She is currently working on essays pertaining to Jewish philosophy, focusing on pre-Zionist criticisms of state violence.

t.j. clarkBerkeley’s other honoree is historian T.J. Clark. A George C. and Helen N. Pardee Professor of Art History at Berkeley, Clark has a speciality in modern art and currently holds a Mellon Distinguished Achievement Award. His latest book, The Sight of Death:  An Experiment in Art Writing, was published last year.

“It’s a wonderful honor,” says Butler, “especially because Tim Clark in art history was also included. It suggests that the ideas that are being valued extend across the humanities, and that the society is open to a number of different critical perspectives.”

The only other university to see two new members elected from the humanities this year is Harvard.

Also elected to APS membership this year were Berkeley professors Mina J. Bissell, in biochemistry, and Ronald Demos Lee, in demography and economics.

APS is the country’s first learned society. Founded more than 250 years ago APS promotes useful knowledge in the sciences and humanities through excellence in scholarly research, professional meetings, publications, library resources, and community outreach.


See our News Archive for more about the College of Letters and Science and the people at heart of L&S.

For website updates, please contact

UC Berkeley | Site Credit | Accessibility | Site Map

Copyright © 2007-2011 | The Regents of the University of California

| Updated: Jul 13, 2007